2013 Preview – 2 albums

2012 was a great year for folk music, Americana arists and singer songwriters. It’s fascinating that a style with such timeless roots can still be so fresh and exciting.  This,  my favorite genre seems to be rapidly expanding as more and more once-obscure names are becoming dinner table conversation all over the country. New releases from Mumford and Sons and the Avett Bros first come to mind, and other breakthrough acts like fun. made 2012 a great year to be a fan of that soulful, authentic sound. Kudos to Lady Gaga and Miley Cyrus for the success that they’ve had, but I’m all about the underdog success stories, and 2013 is about to be full of them. Here’s two albums I’m looking forward to:

Josh Ritter – The Beast in Its Tracks: 3-5-13 .

For a man who just went through a divorce before writing this album, the first tracks that have emerged are certainly more joyful and hopeful than despairing. That’s what has always gotten me about Josh Ritter – though he dabbles in brooding loneliness and self-absorption he never quite goes over the edge, and he *always* finds the hopeful message. March 5  cannot come soon enough – The Beast in its Tracks  is THE album I’ve been waiting for since his last release failed to thoroughly impress me. I’ve also already bought tickets for his March 21 show at the Crystal, which I’ve been waiting for since 2010 when my daughter’s birth interrupted his show (almost literally!) I cannot express how these two dates cannot come soon enough. Josh’s music has spoken to me in countless ways over the years. See the album teaser at http://www.joshritter.com and the first single here:

 

The Lone Bellow 1-22-13 –

One album that I totally fell in love with this past year is The Civil Wars’ Barton Hollow. And now that that duo is on indefinite hiatus, I suppose I’ll have to get excited about Charlie Peacock’s next producing project, The Lone Bellow. It shouldn’t be to hard to do that, based on Bob Boilen’s preview on NPR. Sounds like a silky sound combo pulling from the Low Anthem and Lord Huron, perhaps…. and if so, how is that going to be bad? Very stoked.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/allsongs/2012/12/19/167455620/youll-know-this-band-in-2013-the-lone-bellow

Leave a Reply

