Best Songs of 2013 Continued

I realized I left these songs off the list because I learned about them so early in the year.  And because I’m forgetful. Super great stuff though.

Jim James – State of the Art (A.E.I.O.U.)

He’s such a great mood creator, and this syncopated tune is so soothing, so mellow.

“I use my state of the art
Technology
Now don’t you forget it
It ain’t using me ”

The Lone Bellow – Green Eyes and a Heart of Gold 

Supremely thrilling tight upper-register harmonies and  huge energy right from the get-go. Not a bad “storytelling” song either.

“Green eyes and a heart of gold, all our
Money’s gone and the house is cold
And it’s alright.”

Telekinesis – Power Lines

I would probably not enjoy Telekinesis at all were it not for this massive album opener. With this track I understood the huge potential and musical power of this artist. I was literally just scrolling through Rdio, pulled it up, and fell in love after this first track.

“When I was young I thought I was a power line.”

Ivan and Alyosha – Running for Cover 

A nice folksy harmony song with a huge swell and build for each chorus.

“If I could see the garden place /
Before the fall, would things have changed? ”

 

Leave a Reply

