March Music Preview and SXSW

I love the month of March. It is rapidly competing with June and October for my best month of the year. The weather changes a little, we get slightly longer days, baseball spring training starts (did everyone see that Russell Wilson dressed out for the Rangers last week?), March Madness begins and SXSW wreaks its wonderful havoc on the music community. It feels like a long haul to get through January and February, so March is always a time of excitement and anticipation. 

If I were going to SXSW here’s who I would be seeing:

Against Me!

Angel Olsen (maybe)

The Front Bottoms (definitely)

Hurray for the Riff Raff

Moon Hooch

St Paul and the Broken Bones

Since I’m not, I am content to usher in the prequel to springtime with the Lake Street Dive show at the Wonder next Wednesday and a ton of instrumental/experimental artists for the Lent season upcoming. If anyone is kind enough to pay the $795 for a music badge plus a plane ticket to Austin I might be able to get away for a day or two next week. If not, I’ll just keep sitting, waiting, wishing and enjoying the anticipation that March brings.

Leave a Reply

