Waterfront Blues Fest Just Got A Lot More Awesome

 

I am really excited about the Waterfront Bluesfest this year, even though I thought I wouldn’t be. Three reasons – Gregg Allman, Los Lonely Boys, and now, none other than the Tuareg guitar legend Bombino.

He has been compared to Jimi Hendrix for his intensity and fiery chops, and his debut record last year was produced by Dan Auerbach of the Black Keys. I love the record, have since last summer, and as soon as  I heard it, I thought “This guy would be perfect for blues fest.”

Honestly I didn’t think the festival organizers would be able to snag such a hot commodity. He majorly turned heads last year at Newport Folk and I just didn’t know if the Portland doers were with-it enough to get him. So I am impressed and excited.

There’s also this great Daytrotter session with Los Lonely Boys from back in January. I downloaded it during Lent but didn’t listen to it. I’m glad I saved it. I love their driving, funky Santana-like guitars, Blues Traveler upward energy and well-blended harmonies. Can’t wait to hear them live – I’ve heard that’s how they’re best experienced.

And in case you missed my first gushing about Blues Fest and their decision to have Gregg Allman headline sensational Sunday this year, check it out here.

We’re blues-ward bound!

Leave a Reply

