Kishi Bashi – Philosophize In It! Chemicalize With It!

Such an interesting tune! (How many more exclamation points can I use!!!!)

I’ve known the Kishi Bashi name for a while, but never looked into them specifically. Then I cued up Rdio for the first time in ages, and their new release was featured there. I also just heard that they were in the OPB studio recently and that got me thinking about them again.

In this song, listen for three things:

1) Super interesting electronic strings.

2) The most fascinating vocal track I’ve heard all year. How does he get so high!? (!!!!!)

3) The stomp-and-start stacatto rhythmic structure (yes I meant to write stomp) that pounds through in the very beginning of the first verse and when he sings the words of the title track. So motivating, so good.

Here’s a link to the OPB session as well.

Leave a Reply

